Russian Tourist News

« Back

Residents of 18 countries will be able to visit the Far East by e-visa  24.04.2017 12:00

A list of countries whose citizens will be able to visit Russia via electronic visas through check points in the Freeport of Vladivostok is determined. Dmitry Medvedev, the chairman of the Russian Government, signed the document.
Alexander Galushka, the minister of the Development of the Russian Far East, said that residents of such countries as Brunei, India, China, North Korea, Mexico, Singapore, Japan, Algeria, Bahrain, Iran, Qatar, Kuwait, Morocco, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia and Turkey can use the simplified visa system. The foreigners can obtain eight days electronic visa from the 1st of August.

"The testing of check points will begin on the 1st of July. It is necessary to equip technically check points for the practical realization of the simplified visa system. The period between the adoption of the law and the actual introduction of an electronic visa is allocated for the departments work. This is a new mechanism. We will test it at a local point from "a" to "z", will organize the work and after that we will extend this mechanism further," - stressed Alexander Galushka.

The head of the Ministry for Development of the Russian Far East added that in the first place, according to a new scheme, checkpoints will be opened in Vladivostok. In prospect foreigners will be able to go with e-visa to any five regions where the free port regime is active - Primorye, Khabarovsk, Sakhalin, Chukotka and Kamchatka. There is no consular fee, it points to the possibility to obtain the visa free of charge.

According to Yury Trutnev, the deputy Prime Minister of Russia and Presidential Envoy to the Far Eastern Federal District, the introduction of the e-visa mechanism "will directly reflect on the improvement of the investment climate and will help the development of the tourist sector."

In order to obtain a visa, it is necessary to submit an application on the website of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. With a positive decision, a visa is issued directly on the Russian border. The term of consideration is four days. The visa is valid for 30 days.

The decree of the Russian Government on the extension of the free port regime to the territory of Khabarovsk and Sovetskaya Gavan will be signed during the Third Eastern Economic Forum.