Russian Tourist News

« Back

The 2018 FIFA World Cup FAN ID will serve as entry visa to Russia from June 4 to July 25  11.12.2017 11:20

As announced the Deputy Director of the Department for Implementation of Strategic Projects of the Ministry of Communications Andrei Romankov, the FAN ID of the foreign guests of the 2018 FIFA World Cup will serve as entry visa to Russia from June 4 to July 25.

 "I confirm that from June 4 to July 25 the FAN ID will serve as an entry visa but the last entry to Russia on this document will be possible only on the day of the last match of the 2018 World Cup," he said.

A.Romankov said that foreigners will be able to receive the FAN ID by mail at their home address as well as at VFS Global visa centers abroad. "The delivery will take up to three weeks around the world and up to 14 days to VFS offices," he added.

The official recalled that the fan's passport system appeared for the first time at the Sochi Olympics and was successfully tested during the Confederations Cup.

"Registration for the FAN ID has already started. The procedure is simple and was tested during the Confederations Cup. It is required to buy a ticket for the match, register on the FAN ID portal and pass a three-day test of the possibility of attending matches made by the law-enforcement authorities. After getting the confirmation, the passport is issued," noted the representative of the Ministry of Communications.

According to him, centers for issuing FAN ID for Russian fans are already open in five cities - Moscow, Sochi, Saint Petersburg, Kazan and Kaliningrad. In the future, there will be two such centers in each city hosting the Championship. In addition, there will be technical support centers in each city where FAN ID holders will be able to restore them in case of loss or other problems.

Matches of the final part of the 2018 FIFA World Cup will be held from June 14 to July 15, 2018 in 11 cities of Russia - Moscow, St. Petersburg, Kazan, Nizhny Novgorod, Saransk, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Yekaterinburg, Samara, Sochi and Rostov-on-Don.