Russian Tourist News

« Back

The Russian government approved a visa-free regime between Russia and the Dominican Republic  03.09.2018 15:05

The Russian government approved an agreement on the mutual refusal of visas with the Commonwealth of the Dominican Republic, the relevant document was published on the website of Cabinet of Ministers.

"The agreement provides for the introduction of a visa-free travel regime for the period of stay not more than 90 days within of 180 for the Russian citizens, holders of valid passports that certify the identity of a Russian citizen outside of Russia, including diplomatic and service passports, and for the citizens of the Dominican Republic, holders of valid diplomatic, official and civil passports", - said in an explanatory note.

The document notes that the agreement is aimed at the development of contacts between citizens of the two countries and at the increase in the mutual trips with business and tourist purposes.

The Dominican Republic is located on the island of the same name from the group of Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean Sea. Guadeloupe is located on the north-west from it, Martinique is on the south-east. There are 73.6 thousand residents in the island area of 754 square kilometers.

Now the Russians do not need a visa to visit the island with tourist purposes for a period of stay not more than 21 days. Thus, after the agreement on the mutual refusal of visas that comes into force, the Russians will be able to stay for up to 90 days in the country.